Grade Onederful!

Every year is a different experience and this school year, was one of the most challenging ordeals I had encountered in the academe. I had a whole group of challenging kids who tested my patience as well as my teaching abilities. It was never easy to adjust but because God was with me all the days of my life plus a strong support from family and friends, I was able to surpass the challenges entrusted in me.

Fresh from my mountain experience where I taught for a year in Sunog Elementary School (kindly read “Sunog is a Home”), I was then transferred back to Buanoy Central School where I was assigned as a 1st grade teacher. I was left with no choice but to accept the challenge since I was new in the institution (it was already a come-back though).

On my first day, September 1, 2015, Tuesday, it was as if I was new in BCS. I was wandering around trying to remember all the memories I had in school for 2 years. I was happy of course that I was back but at the same time separation anxiety hit me. I was also over-thinking on how I’ll handle young kids like Grade 1 pupils and where I’ll be teaching them, waaaaaah! Anyway, some of my colleagues threw a simple welcome back celebration for me, they’re so sweet.

Just like what I had experienced during my first stay in BCS where I taught Grade 4 pupils on the stage (please read “Everyday is a Show”), this time it was different, in an old stockroom, OMG!!! I had no choice again but to clean the old stockroom, de-clutter it, beautify a little bit, and arrange the tables and chairs. When it looked like a classroom already, I gathered all my pupils from seven different sections and transferred them to our new haven of fun and learning. Of course, what can you expect? You will accept those pupils who were challenging in their respective classrooms, huhu. In my own term, those children who were “talented”, will be the same who will test my patience. But with all of these hostile situations, who am I not to be grateful? All the blessings came pouring in and I’ve been praying for them to happen. So, I accepted it and just enjoy the journey.

GRADE I – IVORY

They say, the best teachers are the Grade I teachers and I couldn’t agree more. I have the highest respect for them for their patience, dedication, and their passion to teach young children. In my own opinion, teaching 1st grade pupils is one of the hardest challenge an educator may encounter in the teaching scene. I know I’m too far from being a good Grade 1 teacher, I was even lost when I handled them. I was never at my best and I struggled a lot until this time. Nonetheless, I still have a lot of time to equip myself to be a better 1st grade teacher. I know I still have a lot to learn. I need more preparations to handle a Grade I class and next time I know I’ll be better.

I am so much grateful to my Grade 1 family for their assistance, encouragement, help, support, and trust. To Ma’am Conie Rizaga, our grade leader, for her guidance whenever things were ambiguous for me and when there were new forms to accomplish. To Ma’am Jovie Batomalaque, who was not only an aunt, she was once my Grade 4 subject teacher, and who was always supportive and showed her willingness to help me. To Ma’am Felrose Ramirez and Ma’am Gemma Ponte who were ready to answer all my queries, who were never tired of lending me their visual aids, who were always very kind and generous to me, and I always felt their sympathy. To Ma’am Lendy Aum, for her encouraging words, for doing some tasks beyond her advisory class instead of me doing them. To Ma’am Charlyn Suroysuroy, for being so cool, for her sympathy, and for always ready to help me. And of course to Ma’am Merlene Baliling, for sharing with me lots of tips on how to teach Grade I pupils with efficacy, for willingly switching over our class so that she can focus teaching reading to those challenging pupils from my class, for sharing her visual aids and books with me, for printing forms and reading materials for me, for encouraging me to be strong, for her guidance towards me, and by simply asking me how I was. I have learned a lot from her which I could apply in the next school years. They were never selfish, instead, they were supportive and willing to help. Thank you so much my Grade 1 colleagues for everything that you have done for me, I appreciate every little thing that you do. Thank you for the trust. I am also thankful to all the parents for their support in whatever activities we had in school. You are my partners in educating our children. And to my pupils for letting me realize how fulfilling this job is, for broadening my horizons in terms of teaching and learning, for making me laugh even when I was not in the mood, and for the happy moments we shared in an old stockroom which turned to be our little home.

”No man is an island”. I may be a doctor of education but I also acknowledge the fact that I still have a lot to learn in my profession. We should never stop learning and let’s continue honing our skills in teaching. One thing I’ve learned from the whole experience was, do not be afraid to ask help from other people and always share what you have to them. To all Grade I teachers, my grand salute to all of you. You are all inspiring.

Leave a comment