Everyday is a Show

Classroom interaction may be likened to a theater, a teacher, the pupils, and the audiences to actors on the stage, each playing a variety of roles.

Over a year ago, I made an important decision pertaining to my career as a teacher. The MMIS (previous school) was already a comfort zone and I was very contented with the job. It was where I was given the chance to grow professionally for six long years. However, I took a great leap of faith and joined the array of teachers in the public school for one significant reason, I needed to go home to the province to live with my family. Luckily, I was accepted too soon at Buanoy Central School (my Alma Mater in grade school) and made me very excited to meet my pupils and work with new colleagues.

On the first day, I was very surprised when the principal and guidance counselor led me to the stage and introduced me to the grade four pupils. OMG!!! There were 75 pupils situated on the school stage since their adviser had just retired. Due to the increasing number of pupils, the principal decided to utilize the stage and because I’m the only additional teacher during that time, I was ordered to stay there with my advisory class Grade IV-Pink. To be honest, I was a bit frustrated because it was totally a different environment for me knowing that I came from an international school where everything was provided and there were only a handful of pupils. I knew it will be very difficult to adjust but as a teacher I had no choice but to be flexible. I needed to put my heart over everything to be able to overcome the challenge.

Truly, there were times when I lost my temper and scolded the children but my heart still goes out for them. On the stage, we experienced heavy rain when we all get wet including our things. On sunny days, everybody was also uneasy because the stage was extremely hot. There were times when pupils’ school things were blown away by the wind. During recess, pupils from different grade levels will gather around to play, throw trashes, run with great abandon and disarrange the tables and chairs. My pupils on the other hand were very unruly, emotionally disturbed, some cut classes, most of them bully each other, and got low academic performances in all subjects. The worst, they were very disrespectful with the teachers. They will only behave when it’s my subject but with other teachers they will not listen but rather play. Moreover, school activities and reports were also overwhelming. Just imagine how lost and disoriented I was during the first few months of my teaching in the public school. The feeling was indescribable. As the famous memes in social media showed, teaching is like a walk in the park but in the Jurrasic Park. I would agree with this a 100%. huhu. Some teachers commented, “Sus! pinilian jd nang mga bataa mam, puro na cla badlungon,kiatan, etc.”. At the back of my mind, how can they learn in this kind of environment? Never. Why do they behave as such? It’s for me to know their background. How can I help them? By teaching them wholeheartedly, extend my patience, and encourage them to study harder. I may sound too ambitious but I believe I can do it.  I know it takes a lot of patience and hardwork to open their minds and touch their hearts but with God’s grace and guidance, I still can do it! I was also blessed with a great leader, my principal for guiding me althroughout my journey. My colleagues who encouraged me to focus on the good things that come with my job and treasure those who truly inspired me to keep going. And my greatest motivation, my family who needs my support.

Every day is literally a show on the stage, my pupils and I are the lead actors. The audience are the individuals who watch and react to every performance, may it be grand or ordinary, for as long as they made a contribution to the whole show.

Leave a comment